Gina Beavers (b.1974; Athens, Greece) will open a solo exhibition at Marianne Boesky Gallery, New York in spring 2020. Beavers creates sculptural paintings that explore the digital landscapes of our everyday lives. Drawing on images taken from Instagram, YouTube, image databases, and other online sources, she creates thick, tactile paintings that capture, in deeply visceral ways, the curated and often superficial nature of our digital lives. By examining the ubiquity and uniformity of certain types of images—from our selfie culture to our obsession with “food porn”—Beavers also highlights the ongoing flattening of identity and individuality through an unspoken but seemingly mutual agreement on what constitutes beauty, happiness, and a life well lived. Within her process, Beavers’ conceptual and formal interests converge, as she looks to push the possibilities of paint to its sculptural height while also subverting the flatness of the digital image back into three dimensions. Beavers’ ongoing play with notions of reality and physicality provides a dynamic platform through which to consider wider cultural and social dialogues. Her work has been presented in solo exhibitions at galleries including Michael Benevento, Los Angeles; GNYP Gallery, Berlin; Carl Kostyal, London; James Fuentes, New York; Gavin Brown's Enterprise, New York; Cheim and Read, New York; and Canada Gallery, New York, among others. In March 2019, MoMA PS1 opened Beavers’ first solo museum exhibition, Gina Beavers: The Life I Deserve, which is accompanied by the artist’s first monograph.

Her work has also been included in group presentations at Kentucky Museum of Contemporary Art, Louisville; Nassau County Museum of Art, New York; Flag Art Foundation, New York; William Benton Museum of Art, Connecticut; and Abrons Art Center, New York. Beavers holds a BA in Studio Art and Anthropology from the University of Virginia (1996), an MFA in Painting and Drawing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (2000) and an MS in Education from Brooklyn College (2005). She currently lives and works in Newark, New Jersey.

Monica de la Torre works with and between languages. Her latest book is The Happy End/All Welcome. It was published by Ugly Duckling Presse, which also put out her translation of Defense of the Idol by Chilean modernist Omar Cáceres in 2018. Born and raised in Mexico City, she is a contributing editor to BOMB Magazine. Recent writing appears in Artforum, A Public Space, and The Literary Review. Her new book of poems, Repetition Nineteen, is forthcoming from Nightboat in 2020. She teaches at Brooklyn College.

Nicole Russo is Owner and Director of Chapter NY, representing artists such as Sam Anderson, Mira Dancy, Milano Chow and Jesse Darling. In 2001 Russo started her career at Tilton Gallery, located on the Upper East Side. She then became Director at Leo Koenig Inc. (now known as Koenig & Clinton). While a Director at Mitchell-Innes & Nash, Russo founded Chapter NY in 2013 as a weekend-only project space on the Lower East Side. In 2015, Chapter NY shifted to a full time gallery with a continually expanding roster. In addition to running Chapter NY, Russo organizes Condo New York with Simone Subal.


2019-2020: Joeonna Bellorado-Samule, Ruba Katrib, Xiaoyu Weng

2018 - 2019: Lia Gangitano, Rujeko Hockley, Lisa Oppenheim

2017 - 2018: Amber Esseiva, Andrea Scott, Lumi Tan

2016 – 2017: Austin Thomas, Natalie Bell, Monika Bravo

2015 – 2016: Leslie Hewitt, Valerie Smith, Rina Banerjee

2014 – 2015: Piper Marshall, Claire Gilman, Leeza Amady

2013 – 2014: Katherine Chan, Nancy Princenthal, Judith Rodenbeck

2012 – 2013: Lauren O’Neil Butler, Susana Torruella Leval, David Revere McFadden

2011 – 2012: Lisa Kim, Paddy Johnson, Wendy Olsoff

2010 – 2011: Lowery Stokes Sims, Catherine Morris, Harriet Senie

2009 – 2010: Dan Cameron, Faith Ringgold, Ferris Olin

2008 – 2009: Charlotta Kotik, Claire Oliver, Nancy Princenthal

2007 – 2008: Phong Bui, Faye Hirsch, Deborah Willis

2006 – 2007: Matthew Higgs, Shamim Momin, Susana Torruella Leval

2005 – 2006: Christine Kim, Maura Reilly, Florence Lynch, Dominique Nahas, Lauren Ross