PRESS

2019

Claire Selvin, “New Art Dealers Alliance to Stage ‘NADA House’ on Governors Island During Frieze New York,” ArtNEWS, April 2, 2019, http://www.artnews.com/2019/04/02/new-art-dealers-alliance-nada-house-governors-island-frieze-new-york/.

Margaret Carrigan, “Richard Saltoun will donate a portion of his sales at Independent New York to support the all-female exhibition space A.I.R. Gallery,” The Art Newspaper, March 7 2019, https://www.theartnewspaper.com/news/richard-saltoun-will-donate-a-portion-of-his-sales-at-independent-new-york-to-support-the-all-female-exhibition-space-a-i-r-gallery.

Kat Griefen, “Considering Mary Beth Edelson’s ‘Some Living American Women Artists’,” Brooklyn Rail, March 7 2019, https://brooklynrail.org/2019/03/criticspage/Considering-Mary-Beth-Edelsons-Some-Living-American-Women-Artists.

Jillian McManemin, “Judith Bernstein’s Archive,” Brooklyn Rail, March 7 2019, https://brooklynrail.org/2019/03/criticspage/Judith-Bernsteins-Archive.

Kathleen Wentrack, “Women’s Art Collectives: Framing the Future,” Brooklyn Rail, March 7 2019,
https://brooklynrail.org/2019/03/criticspage/Womens-Art-Collectives-Framing-the-Future.

Noelani Kirschner, “Carrie Johnson: Fragmented Landscapes,” The American Scholar, March 4 2019, https://theamericanscholar.org/carrie-johnson/#.XI519mRKhFQ.

Howard Halle, “The Best Brooklyn Art Galleries,” Time Out New York, January 29 2019, https://www.timeout.com/newyork/art/best-brooklyn-art-galleries.

“Shelley & Donald Rubin Foundation Names 2019 Art and Social Justice Grantees,” Artforum, January 22 2019, https://www.artforum.com/news/shelley-donald-rubin-foundation-names-2019-art-and-social-justice-grantees-78371.


2018

Sharon Butler, “Interview with Jane Swavely: Toxic Glow,” Two Coats of Paint, December 1 2018, http://www.twocoatsofpaint.com/2018/12/interview-jane-swavely-r.html.

Noelani Kirschner, “Jane Swavely: Neon Forests,” The American Scholar, November 19 2018, https://theamericanscholar.org/jane-swavely/#.XI5zUmRKhFQ.

Ana Tuazon, “Revisiting a Seminal Exhibition on ‘Third World’ Feminist Art at A.I.R. Gallery,” Hyperallergic, August 30 2018, https://hyperallergic.com/457960/revisiting-a-seminal-exhibition-on-third-world-feminist-art-at-a-i-r-gallery/.

Jillian Steinhauer, “Review: A.I.R. Gallery Catches Up on Some Unfinished Business,” The New York Times, August 22 2018, https://www.nytimes.com/2018/08/22/arts/design/dialectics-of-entanglement-gallery-review.html.

Jasmin Hernandez, “In Conversation with Aya Rodriguez-Izumi: The Beauty Behind Everyday Practices as Rituals,” Gallery Gurls, May 21, 2018, http://gallerygurls.net/interviews/2018/5/21/in-conversation-with-aya-rodriguez-izumi.

Nicholl Paratore, “Visualizing Reproductive Justice Under Trump,” Ms. Magazine, February 13 2018, https://msmagazine.com/2018/02/13/visualizing-reproductive-justice-trump/.

Rosa Naparstek, “Exhibit Review/ CURRENTS: Abortion,” Artists Unite, January 31, 2018, http://artistsunite.ning.com/profiles/blogs/exhibit-review-currents-abortion-january-4-february-4-2018-a-i-r-.


2017

Benjamin Sutton, “Visit Open Studios in a Former Officer’s House on Governors Island,” Hyperallergic, July 26 2017, https://hyperallergic.com/392508/governors-island-open-studios-air-gallery/.

Kerry Cardoza, “Photos of the Capitalist Imagery that Overwhelm’s Beirut’s Landscape,” Hyperallergic, May 15 2017, https://hyperallergic.com/379039/photos-of-the-capitalistic-imagery-that-overwhelms-beiruts-landscape/.

Les Femmes Folles, “MaryKate Maher, Artist,” Les Femmes Folles, May 5 2017, http://femmesfollesnebraska.tumblr.com/post/160341213292/marykate-maher-artist.

Martha Schwendener, “10 Galleries to Visit Now in Brooklyn,” The New York Times, April 27 2017, https://www.nytimes.com/2017/04/27/arts/design/10-galleries-to-visit-now-in-brooklyn.html.

Olivia Deng, “Is the Push for Women in STEM Hurting Female Artists?,” The Atlantic, April 14 2017, https://www.theatlantic.com/education/archive/2017/04/is-the-push-for-women-in-stem-hurting-female-artists/522915/.

Claire McCartney, “Pow ‘er Up! Colorful exhibit reimagines old images,” Brooklyn Paper, March 16 2017, https://www.brooklynpaper.com/stories/40/11/24-pow-paintings-susan-bee-2017-03-17-bk.html.

Zayda Rivera, “5 Artists From Around The Globe Who Wowed Us At The VOLTA NY Art Show,” a plus, March 8 2017, https://aplus.com/art-seen/volta-ny-art-show-2017.

Sarbani Ghosh, “16 Feminist Art Shows to See In Honor of Women’s History Month,” Artnet News, March 6 2017, https://news.artnet.com/exhibitions/feminist-art-shows-womens-history-month-880253.

Aline Smithson, “Manal Abu-Shaheen: Beirut,” Lenscratch, February 20 2017, http://lenscratch.com/2017/02/manal-abu-shaheen-beirut/.

Emily Colucci, “Avoiding Contemporary Politics at A.I.R. Gallery’s ‘Sinister Feminism’,”ARTFCITY, February 3 2017, http://artfcity.com/2017/02/03/avoiding-contemporary-politics-at-a-i-r-gallerys-sinister-feminism/.

Kathryn Meyers, “Cooperative Consciousness Photo Essay : A.I.R. Gallery at Kochi Biennale 2017,” Bring Home Stories, January 10 2017, http://www.bringhomestories.com/art/cooperative-consciousness-air-gallery-kochi-biennale-2017-photo-essay.